January 17th, 2011


"Towers of Midnight" by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson

This (book 1 of 2011) is the thirteenth book in the Wheel of Time series - written post-Jordan's death by Brandon Sanderson. Jordan had got up to book 11 and was saying there was one more book's worth of story left, but when Sanderson came to write them (based on Jordan's notes) he found that he needed 3 books to tell the story. So this is the second of those three books, and as with the previous one I'm impressed with how the transition from one author to the next isn't immediately apparent. Of course, I've not re-read the first 11 books in a while so I will be missing nuances etc, but it feels like the same series, the same world, the same characters & the same story. It's hard to say anything without spoilers for something in the series somewhere, but one spoiler-free comment I want to make is that stuff continues to happen in this book. Book 10 was the lowest point of the series, for me, as there was this great big book where nothing much really happened at all. Book 11 (the last of Jordan's books) did do something to pull it back up out of that hole, but it still felt like there were a lot of plot threads that something needed to happen to before the end. These two books have definitely been tying off threads.

Collapse )

I'm definitely back to looking forward to the next instalment of the series now, which wasn't the case after the 10th book. But it won't feel a shame when it's over, it's been a long enough story that it needs to finish now, and it feels like it's nearly there :)
  • Current Music
    Various "Underworld"
  • Tags